Donate to the MX-3.com Forums
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently July 12 2020, 9:38 AM

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Just need some clarification 

Post Just need some clarification
Because my MX 3 is a 94 model would it have the OBD1 scanner port? and if so, is the "diagnosis" box behind the battery in my engine bay where the port is located??
i got a check engine light and can't seem to pinpoint the problem, so i am going to borrow a friends scanner but i need to know where the port is

thank you

June 16 2010, 1:46 AM
Supporting Member

Post Re: Just need some clarification
Yes, that is the port. And you don't need a scanner, just a jumper wire (paper clip). Search on the forum for the procedure.

Feedback Thread

June 16 2010, 1:50 AM

alright thanks

found out its "Cam Position"
i am completely lost on that, is my cam not in the right position?? and if so how can i fix that? keeping in mind i have very few tools sorry for seeming like a complete newb but that kind of stuff i havent learned about quite yet

June 16 2010, 7:13 PM
Supporting Member

NateBaden wrote:
alright thanks

found out its "Cam Position"
i am completely lost on that, is my cam not in the right position?? and if so how can i fix that? keeping in mind i have very few tools sorry for seeming like a complete newb but that kind of stuff i havent learned about quite yet

Cam position sensor is integrated into your distributor. Not sure if it's replaceable without replacing the whole distributor.

Feedback Thread

June 16 2010, 8:49 PM

is it s V6 or a 4 banger?
The V6 have 2 Cam sensors.Oone in the distributor and one at the crank. IIRC there are two different codes (one for each) so you know which one is bad. If I am wrong though, you will need a mechanic to tell you which one is bad since the electrical tool to test it is expensive.